Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Version 12.0.0 Arrives Soon, Kazuya’s Launch Likely Imminent

Super Smash Bros Ultimate x Tekken

Nintendo has confirmed that Super Smash Bros. Ultimate‘s next major update, which will take the game to Version 12.0.0, will be arriving “in the near future,” potentially giving the game away on the next fighter’s release window.

The incoming arrival of Version 12.0.0 was announced on social media this morning; Nintendo reminds Smash players to convert any in-game replays you’ve been saving up before the update arrives.

Of course, next Monday we’re being treated to a 40-minute presentation from series director Masahiro Sakurai which will provide the usual overview of the game’s next fighter, Tekken’s Kazuya. Fighters are often released shortly after these demonstration videos, so coupling that fact with today’s Version 12.0.0 reveal suggests that we’ll be playing as Kazuya from as early as next week.

We’ll make sure to host the Kazuya presentation right here on Nintendo Life next Monday. It kicks off at 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST, so make sure to join us then to see the show.